Check out our great reviews from
ABTA & ATOL protected

Excellent Trip to Costa Rica - Excellently Organised

Our three week trip to Costa Rica was constructed with some great inputs from Mariana in San Jose. She was efficient in responding to our many queries and also very patient . She was happy to work with us as we researched and requested alternative ideas and sometimes changed our minds back too! Her recommendations on accommodation were excellent - fully meeting our brief of not wanting to stay in large hotels in touristy places. We were very pleasantly surprised especially by the Trogon Lodge in San Gerado de Dota and the Bosque Del Mar in Playa Hermosa. All activities, pick-ups etc ran to plan with no issues at all on timings. I would have no hesitation in recommending Mariana (via the TravelLocal website) should anyone wish to have an itinerary constructed for a Costa Rica trip. Should we ever return and we sincerely hope that we will as there is still more to experience in this beautiful country then we will definitely be in touch.

Jo, from UK

Visited Costa Rica in

Overall rating





96% of our customers would recommend us to a friend.

See all of our reviews...

What was good about our local partner based in Costa Rica?

Prompt is responding to queries. Responded well to our brief reflecting what we did and did not want on our trip which was appreciated. They were very flexible and patient

What could our local partner based in Costa Rica improve on?

*A difficult one but to have better knowledge on the location of some of the rooms and advise clients accordingly : -Whilst we loved the Selva Verde Lodge gardens at Sarapiqui, this was the worst room we stayed in on our holiday. I would advise no-one to stay in a Chialamate Room unless you can sleep through any noise. Whilst large, these rooms are very dark and are right next to a very busy road which has lorries passing by all through the night . The hotel does have many other rooms located a long way from the road in the gardens and whilst we didn't see inside any of these rooms , they would be far quieter ! *Ensure clients are very aware of potential issues in any of their activities: - The rafting experience on the Sarapiqui river did not meet our expectations purely because the river was low and therefore the rapids hardly existed. To the point that we spent more time stuck on rocks than actually going down any small rapids that existed - and these amounted to about 3 or 4 in total. I strongly suggest that clients are told this is likely to be an issue at this time of year and recommend a different location for white water rafting where the river is higher or even not doing it at all. * Demand the best quality of car hire even recommending a more expensive grade if necessary: - The first car we had on hire from National was extremely basic, very battered with lots of bumps and scratches on it and not very comfortable at all to be in for any length of time. The air conditioning was poor - probably due to the small engine size - and whilst the car did meet our needs and got us to our various locations without any incidents, a higher specification and newer model would have been preferred. Our second car hire from National - from Sierpe to Manuel Antonio- was a different model of car (a Toyota) to the first one and was significantly better in every way. These three points aside, we still had an excellent trip and thoroughly enjoyed the variety of places we stayed and visited.

What did you think about the guides or drivers on your trip?

All were generally of a very high standard and happy to engage in conversation with us. The only one who didn't was our last driver who took us from Manuel Antonio to San Jose airport. This may have been a language issue but she also had her mother in the vehicle with us for the duration of the journey

What advice would you give to other travellers planning a trip to Costa Rica?

See as much of the country and you can since it has so much variety from rivers, to mountains to beaches to national parks. And its all different. Try and get off the very busy main touristy areas in order to see the more natural beauty of the country. Try some of the outdoor activities such as zip wiring and tubing - they are exhilarating and great fun at any age. The Osa Peninsula is stunning but check if your accommodation has air con since at night it can be extremely humid and hot without! Spend as little time in San Jose as you can - there isn't a lot there for tourists!

What was the most memorable part of your trip?

We loved all our different experiences but it has to be watching a three toed sloth descend from the canopy of a tree to the ground for her weekly poop and then climb back up again . This was in the Manuel Antonio National Park. We saw loads of different wildlife and loved it all !

How likely are you to recommend TravelLocal?


Our local partner based in Costa Rica replied...

Hola Jo, Thank you very much for sharing your experience with us and other travelers, I am happy to know that you had such a wonderful trip! It was a pleasure for me to help you organize everything. I also appreciate your constructive feedback very much, as this will help us to improve our service. I am particularly sorry about Chilamate room at Selva Verde... To be honest, we do not use this room a lot, but it was the only one with a king size bed so I made the special request to them. Anyway, I will keep in mind that the rest of the rooms are nice. I hope you can make your trips to Alaska and Galápagos soon! Warmest regards from San José, Costa Rica, Mariana

Our local partner based in Costa Rica
Our local partner based in Costa Rica